top of page

A Massachusetts trip

Yesterday I got back from a trip to Massachusetts, where I was visiting relatives. But I did have time to do other things, like play on a 145 year old piano - and birdwatch.

On the 4th I went to Stony Brook Wildlife Sanctuary, which is run by the Mass Audobon Society. I got to see Mute Swans, which were brought over from England a while back. I also saw some shorebirds, and a TON of Yellow-rumped Warblers.

This Yellow-rumped Warbler was in a flock of ten or twenty! That flock came a few feet away from us.

I saw four swans - two immatures and their two parents.

This Killdeer came pretty close for a shorebird!

I really enjoyed my stay in MA, and as we were driving home, we got a parting present: A rare rainbow cloud, caused by ice crystals or water drops diffracting the light of the sun.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page