top of page

Birds coming through!

Spring migration has started! Lots of warblers and other tropical species are coming up through the US! I went birding at a local park today and saw these birds:

There's a Northern Waterthrush in this picture. Can you find it? Waterthrushes are great at camouflage.

Blue-winged Warbler - I was lucky to see this! This was a life bird for me.

Chipping Sparrow

Louisiana Waterthrush - A little rarer than the Northern Waterthrush.

Scarlet Tanager - He was really close and went into the stream!

Photobomb! I was photographing a Scarlet Tanager, but a Yellow-rumped Warbler came into the picture. I saw 25 Yellow-rumped Warblers.

Northern Parula - One of the most colorful Warblers.

Worn-eating Warbler - This one was taking a bath! This is the second Worm-eating Warbler that I've seen in my life.

Hermit Thrush - Very good at Camouflage.

So this is just the beginning of spring migration! More and more cool birds are coming. In a month, I have a trip to Delaware to see Red Knots eating Hermit Crab eggs. This will be a great spring for migratory birds.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page